In The

2015 Golf Awards

Leaders of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives awarded the Congressional Gold Medal to Jack Nicklaus in March, 2015 in honor of his contributions to the game and charity efforts across the nation. The Gold Medal is the highest civilian award the United States Congress can bestow. Nicklaus is just the seventh athlete to be given this honor, and the third golfer. Roberto Clemente, Joe Louis, Byron Nelson, Jesse Owens, Arnold Palmer, and Jackie Robinson have all been awarded the Congressional Gold Medal.

The Player Foundation and World Golf Hall of Famer Gary Player received the Winnie Palmer Award from the Metropolitan Golf Writers Association. The Winnie Palmer Award acknowledges those who consistently give their time, energy and enthusiasm to those less fortunate. The Player Foundation, through several annual events staged in the U.S., Asia, Europe and South Africa, has raised more than $50 million since being established in 1983.

Brad Faxon was honored April 13 as the 18th recipient of the Francis Ouimet Award for lifelong contributions to golf. The Francis Ouimet Scholarship Fund exists to make college a financial reality for hundreds of Massachusetts students who have held golf-related jobs. Faxon joined past honorees including Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus, Gary Player, Tom Watson, Greg Norman, Nancy Lopez, Annika Sorenstam, and President George H.W. Bush. Faxon, raised in Rhode Island, will be the third New Englander — after Francis Ouimet and Eddie Lowery — to receive the prestigious Ouimet Award.

Nick Price and Gary Player were enshrined into the St. Louis Sports Hall of Fame in April 2015. Both players won major championships at Bellerive CC in St Louis.

Jack Nicklaus got a room at the USGA Museum on May 27. There are already galleries for Bobby Jones, Ben Hogan, Arnold Palmer and Mickey Wright with more than 80 artifacts on display in the 1,200-square-foot exhibit space located in Far Hills, New Jersey.

World Golf Hall of Fame member Nick Price received one of golf’s most prestigious honors, the Gold Tee Award – from the Metropolitan Golf Writers Association on Tuesday, June 9. The Gold Tee is the MGWA’s highest honor, awarded to an individual whose career achievements exemplify the best spirit and traditions of the sport of golf.

Barbara Nicklaus was the recipient of the USGA’s 2015 Bob Jones Award. Jack Nicklaus won the award in 1975. They are the first married couple to receive the accolade. The Bob Jones Award is the USGA’s highest honor. It recognizes an individual who demonstrates the spirit, personal character and respect for the game exhibited by Jones, winner of nine USGA championships. Mrs. Nicklaus was presented with the award at the 2015 U.S. Open Championship in June.

According to a tweet from @MartinezLuque, Eduardo Romero, a five-time winner on the Champions Tour, was elected mayor in Villa Allende, Cordoba, his hometown in Argentina.

Monday of the San Antonio Championship tournament week (Oct. 12) was a memorable one for Jeff Maggert. The three-time PGA TOUR winner, who also has five Champions Tour victories, was inducted into the Texas Golf Hall of Fame that evening, along with four other inductees.

Gil Morgan, third on the all-time Champions Tour victory list with 25 wins behind Hale Irwin (45) and Lee Trevino (29), was inducted into the newly-formed Oklahoma Golf Hall of Fame on October 25. Morgan will be inducted alongside former Senior PGA Tour rules official and tournament winner Bob Dickson, top amateur Charlie Coe, decorated golf coach Mike Holder, golf architect Perry Maxwell and pioneer Bill Spiller. Dickson won the 1998 Cadillac NFL Golf Classic in a playoff over Jim Colbert and Larry Nelson.

Former PGA TOUR commissioner Deane Beman has been named the recipient of the 2015 PGA Distinguished Service Award. Beman, 77, received the PGA of America's highest annual honor on Nov. 13, at a ceremony in conjunction with the 99th PGA annual meeting in Palm Beach Gardens, Fla.

Former Colorado star Hale Irwin was honored at the Century of Golf Gala on Nov. 14, held at The Broadmoor in Colorado Springs in conjunction with the 100th anniversary of the Colorado Golf Association. Irwin was honored as the male player of the century. A three-time winner of the U.S. Open and seven-time major winner on the Champions Tour, Irwin won 20 events on the PGA TOUR and a record 45 wins on the Champions Tour.

Jack Nicklaus was chosen to receive Sports Illustrated’s Muhammad Ali Legacy Award, which honors athletes and sports figures that have embodied sportsmanship, leadership and philanthropy. Earlier this year, Nicklaus became just the seventh athlete to be awarded the Congressional Gold Medal, the highest honor a civilian can receive. Nicklaus will receive the award at SI’s annual Sportsman of the Year celebration in New York on December 15.